Tayaki: Koi Fish Waffles

It was Christmas Eve 2012 when I first travelled to Japan. Growing up reading Doremon (a popular Japanese comics/cartoon) comics I thought I knew everything about The Land of the Rising Sun, but boy was I wrong. The reality hit me as soon as I arrived at Narita airport, it was almost mission impossible trying to read the signs as everything was in characters!

We managed our way to Ginza using the subway thanks to Fedja’s (my travel buddy) previous travel to Japan *oh the relief*. As soon as we got off the Ginza station my senses were captivated by this aromatic scent of freshly cooked waffles in the air, my eyes focused like Steiner discovery binoculars as I scan the surroundings in front of me looking for the culprit who made my nose air hungry and mouth salivate, my tummy tightened and ached as if there were hundreds of little minions jumping up and down inside,pulling and tugging it demanding a recharge. My mind was pre-ocuupied with only one thought; fresh waffle thingy or whatever it was…Get in ma belly!

Spotted! A hole in the wall with a line up of people, here I discovered the holy grail of Japan’s sweet treat taiyaki: They are essentially filled waffles koi/bream fish-shaped

taiyaki

the most common fillings was sweetened azuki (red) beans,

redbean taiyaki

Other filling flavours included green tea custard, chocolate, strawberry milk,banana, kokutou (maple syrup) and plain.

Capture

***did you know Taiyaki have been around Japan for 90 years since 1916 found by a guy by named Yanagiya, At a mere 200 yen approx $2 AUD per serving this treat has helped the Japanese people shrug of lingering effects of worst reccession since World War II.

There used to be a desert store in Hawthorn, Melbourne called Heavenly Delicious that used to sell tayaki however it has since closed. So in order to continue to enjoy this snack I managed replicate this treat and found that it was not hard to make at home to share with friends and family, I have shared the process of making taiyaki in recipes page under street food category. You can also find it by typing Taiyaki waffles in search. I hope you enjoy making and tasting this delight snack ^.^

Have you tried Taiyaki? What is your favourite flavour? Do you prefer it sweet or savoury? Let me know. Thanks for reading =)

One thought on “Tayaki: Koi Fish Waffles

  1. This sounds delicious! I plan to travel to Japan in September and will have to make sure I get to try these out. Better yet, try to make them myself. Mmmmm…

Leave a Reply

